There are 169 cities and towns in Connecticut. Each provides various services, such as public school education, police and fire protection and public road maintenance. To a large extent, the property tax finances these services. Connecticut state law authorizes the taxation of property, including real estate, motor vehicles, business-owned personal property and some personal property that individuals own.

Tax Information